AWIA Australian Web Awards

The annual AWIA Australian Web Awards will be held in May 2019, with judging eligibility dates of 01 July 2017 - 31 December 2018. These prestigious awards are open to AWIA members and recognise the fantastic work being done each year by AWIA members across the country. If you are not an AWIA member – don’t worry, you can join and enter the awards at the same time. Contact [email protected] to become a member today!

The Awards will be judged by an expert panel of your peers. Previous winners of Australian Web Awards have ranged from large organisations to single developers – so don’t think you cannot win! If you think your site is great (and frankly, who doesn’t!) then submit an entry. Winners are showcased on the Australian Web Awards  and AWIA website.

You cannot win if you do not enter.
Sites can be entered in one of the following ten categories:

  • Personal
  • Startup
  • Small Business
  • E-commerce
  • Commercial
  • Government
  • Education
  • Not for Profit
  • Innovation
  • Social Media

Full details of the judging criteria, criteria weighting and required validation guidelines are detailed within our judging process page.

And there’s more:
This year we are introducing ‘Excellence in Criteria’ awards. These ‘Best in Show’ awards will be presented to sites that demonstrate excellence in at least one of: User interface design; User experience design; Content; Development, and Accessibility.

The top award is the McFarlane Prize: our national prize for excellence, which will be given to the most outstanding site overall. Last year, the awards went to the outstanding team at Humaan.

Check out the criteria for each category and register. We will ask you to do self-validation of your site but that will help you just as much as it helps us. And here’s a tip – check out some of our previous winners. If you think your site is better than these then we need to see it!

Entry opening and closing dates to be announced shortly.